In the past questions that are voted to be closed retain the answers accumulated with the question. Why or on what grounds do the answers get deleted with a closed question?
They do not get deleted, unless the question and its answers aren't worth keeping since none of them have a positive score. See The Community user deleted my question! What gives? for some explanation about this automatic process.